The New Zealand Curriculum sets directions for learning



The New Zealand vison is for young people who will be confident, connected, actively involved, lifelong learners.



The expected values are excellence, innovation, inquiry and curiosity, community and particpation, ecological sustainability,

integrity and respect.


Key competencies

The key competencies promoted are thinking, using language, symbols and text, managing self, relating to others, and participating and contributing.


Learning Areas

The key learning areas are English, the arts, health and physical education, learning languages, mathematics and statistics, science, social sciences and technology.



The principles used to guide curriculum delivery in schools include high expectations, Treaty of Waitangi, cultural diversity, inclusion, learning to learn, community enagagement, coherence and future focus.


Numeracy & Maths
Rich Inquiry